The Remit and Structure of Curzon’s Local Governing Body

Curzon’s Local Governing Body has three core functions:

  1. To ensure clarity of the school’s vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  2. To hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  3. To oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent.

The Headteacher is responsible for the implementation of policy and of the curriculum, for the day-to-day operations of the school, and is accountable to the Diocese and Local Governing Body. The Local Governing Body has overall responsibility for the aim and direction of the school and is accountable to the Oxford Diocese Bucks Schools Trust, as well as to parents for the way the school is run.

Our Local Governing Body is made up of up to 12 governors at any one time, to include the Headteacher and the vicar ex-officio, one elected by staff, two elected by parents and a further seven appointed by the Diocese. With the exception of the ex-officio appointments, each governor’s term of office runs for 4 years. We may also be supported by Co-opted local governors, appointed by the Local Governing Body to a particular committee or working group. Governors can be contacted by letter or email via the school office.

Our Local Governing Body meets together formally twice a term and governors are also part of at least one sub-committee or working group, which meet once or twice a term, to deliver the school’s vision and objectives and to ensure all statutory business, such as budgets and policies, can be properly discussed. These are:

  • Curriculum & Admissions Committee
  • Finance, Personnel & General Committee (to include the Pay Review Committee)
  • Premises, Health & Safety Committee
  • Foundation Governors Working Group (to oversee the school’s Christian distinctiveness).

Governors agree to abide by a Code of Conduct and accept the seven Nolan principles of public life.

Effective governance is based on six key features (taken from the DfE’s Governance Handbook, updated Jan 2017):

Core pillars of the board’s role and purpose:
Strategic leadership that sets and champions vision, ethos and strategy.
Accountability that drives up educational standards and financial performance.

How governance is organised:
People with the right skills, experience, qualities and capacity.
Structures that reinforce clearly defined roles and responsibilities.

Ensuring and improving the quality of governance:
Compliance with statutory and contractual requirements.
Evaluation to monitor and improve the quality and impact of governance.

If you would like more information on becoming a governor at Curzon, please contact our Chair of Governors via the school office. Alternatively, more general information about school governors can be obtained from the the Oxford Diocese or Oxford Diocesan Buckinghamshire Schools Trust

Our current Governors are:

Mrs J Payne, Headteacher

Mr M Bowditch, Chair of Governors

Countess E Howe

Mrs S Elsey

Mrs R Lawrence

Mr A Hornsby

Mr P Owen

Rev R Atkinson

Mrs J Bunce

Please follow the following link to access information on the Governing Body, Business Interests and Attendance at Meetings:

Governing Body Details, Business Interests and Attendance at Meetings – July 2020

Current governors: Please click here to access the Governor Portal (Username and Password protected).

OBDST Governance Structure:

Please refer to the images/link below for the OBDST governance Structure

ODBST Governance Structure 2021-2022