Staff and Governors

Meet our staff:

Mrs Coles,

Mrs Payne
Deputy Headteacher

Mrs Thomson
Class 1 Teacher

Miss Croft
Class 2 Teacher

Mr Robson
Class 3 Teacher

Mrs Ellison
Class 4 Teacher

Mrs Silmon
Class 4 Teacher

Mrs Cox
Class 4 and Supply Teacher

Mr Owen
Class 5 Teacher

Miss Ladley,
Class 6 Teacher

Mrs South,
Supply Teacher

Mrs Green


Mr Smith,
Sports Coach

 Mrs Youngman,
Class 1 Teaching Assistant

Mr Ratcliffe
Class 1 Teaching   Assistant

Mrs Rosello,
Class 2 Teaching Assistant
Mrs Mussell,
Class 3 Teaching Assistant
Mrs Russell,
Class 4 Teaching Assistant

          Mrs Hale

Class 5 Teaching Assistant

Mrs Barker,
Class 6 Teaching Assistant
Mrs Hall Family Support Worker and Teaching Assistant

Mrs Mann, Teaching Assistant and
Midday Supervisor

Mrs Bradshaw,
Office Manager
Mrs Hynes,
Admin Support

Mrs Crouch,

Mr Powell,
IT Network Manager
Mrs Jennings,

Current staff: Click here to access the staff portal (username and password required)


The Remit and Structure of Curzon’s Governing Body

Curzon’s Governing Body has three core functions:

  1. To ensure clarity of the school’s vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  2. To hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  3. To oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent.

The Headteacher is responsible for the implementation of policy and of the curriculum, for the day-to-day operations of the school, and is accountable to the Governing Body. The Governing Body has overall responsibility for the aim and direction of the school and is accountable to both the Local Authority and the Diocese of Oxford, as well as to parents for the way the school is run.

Our Governing Body is made up of up to 12 governors at any one time, to include the Headteacher and the vicar ex-officio, one elected by staff, two elected by parents, one appointed by the Local Authority and a further six appointed by the Diocese. With the exception of the ex-officio appointments, each governor’s term of office runs for 4 years. We may also be supported by Associate Members, appointed by the Governing Body to a particular committee or working group. Governors can be contacted by letter or email via the school office.

Our full Governing Body meets together formally twice a term and governors are also part of at least one sub-committee or working group, which meet once or twice a term, to deliver the school’s vision and objectives and to ensure all statutory business, such as budgets and policies, can be properly discussed. These are:

  • Curriculum & Admissions Committee
  • Finance, Personnel & General Committee (to include the Pay Review Committee)
  • Premises, Health & Safety Committee
  • Foundation Governors Working Group (to oversee the school’s Christian distinctiveness)
  • Academy Status Working Group (to monitor and consider future changes to the educational landscape)

Governors agree to abide by a Code of Conduct and accept the seven Nolan principles of public life.

The Governing Body reports to parents on its work over the preceding year via the governors’ annual newsletter, the latest of which can be found here: Governor News April 2018

Effective governance is based on six key features (taken from the DfE’s Governance Handbook, updated Jan 2017):

Core pillars of the board’s role and purpose: Strategic leadership that sets and champions vision, ethos and strategy.
Accountability that drives up educational standards and financial performance. 
How governance is organised: People with the right skills, experience, qualities and capacity. 
Structures that reinforce clearly defined roles and responsibilities. 
Ensuring and improving the quality of governance: Compliance with statutory and contractual requirements.
Evaluation to monitor and improve the quality and impact of governance.

If you would like more information on becoming a governor at Curzon, please contact our Chair of Governors via the school office. Alternatively, more general information about school governors can be obtained from the Buckinghamshire Learning Trust and the Oxford Diocese .

Our current Governors are:

 Mrs Coles,

Michael Bowditch
Chair of Governors

 Dr. Rhoda McDouall
Foundation Governor
 Countess Elizabeth Howe
Foundation Governor
 Julia Payne
Staff Governor

Mike Thomas

Parent Governor

 David Powell
LA Governor
Sally Elsey
Foundation Governor
Andrew Hornsby
Associate Governor
Zoe Clark
Foundation Governor

Rhiannon Lawrence,
Associate Governorr

Please see below for information about governors’ attendance at meetings and declarations of interest. If you are unable to see the images due to size, please click on top of them to make them larger:


Current governors: Please click here to access the Governor Portal (Username and Password protected).